The Seven deadly sins and how I understand them


seven deadly sins
seven deadly sins

I was raised as a Catholic. And I remember when at school we were taught about the Seven deadly sins. They are also known as the Seven cardinal sins. It’s been a long while since I did not recall on this aspect of the school teachings. But back then, I remembered them by heart, and they made part of our daily endeavor towards the contrary of what is considered “sinful”. That obscurantism from the Middle Ages wanted to convey in our century, and at times, it really succeeded. But not always. 

The Catholic Encyclopedia states that “Sin is nothing else than a morally bad act (St. Thomas, De malo, 7:3), an act not in accord with reason informed by the Divine law.” God has given us free will, reason, and a sense of responsibility. We are to use these gifts to live by His law. To sin is what we do when we use our gifts of reason and free will in deviation from God’s law.

Well, at school we were told these sins are considered Mortal, that means you go directly to Hell.

But what matters to me now and in this blog post is not the religious dogmatic element of it. I am trying to say, behaviors that inflict pain in other people are considered a “sin” in religious beliefs.

To my understanding, it is just a symptom of Mental Issues.

These so-called “SEVE deadly sins” are:

Pride – Extreme love for oneself. Narcissism, Vanity, Egolatry. It is considered the most dangerous one because it leads to the other ones. According to Dante, Pride is “ love of self-perverted to hatred and contempt for one’s neighbor.”

Greed – Avarice, the wanting for earthly things, the desire of power through money

Gluttony – Over-consumption of food and drink. Overeating, “eating too soon, eating too expensively, eating too much, eating too eagerly, eating too daintily, and eating wildly.”

Lust – Misuse of the gift of sex. Using  it in an impure way instead of a pure way. Adultery, rape, sexual addictions.

Sloth – Spiritual laziness

Envy – And jealousy, but in a way that someone desires anything bad happen to someone just because they envy them or are jealous of them.

Anger or Wrath – Not a simple outburst of emotions. It means as a sin to anger without real motive or when the motive is not justifiable. To be angry toward an innocent person, to be aggressive towards fragile, innocent people.



chastity, abstinence, liberality or generosity, diligence, patience, kindness, humility.


All right! So, going back to my main purpose when writing this post, human behavior, and misbehavior has been for centuries treated by the church. And the church has given moral understandings.


Right now, how the world is, how many things are happening, how we confront our problems, how we create them, I don’t need any religious interpretation of these seven 7 mortal “peccato”  


7 COLLECTIVE DISASTROUS BEHAVIORS (the so-called Seven Deadly Sins in the Bible):

Pride. It’s the effect of a mental illness. It brings wars.

Greed. It’s the effect of a mental illness. It brings wars, class differences and poverty

Gluttony: Mental illness thaIt brings organic illnesses to the body through junk food

Lust : It brings a false appreciation of our real commitment

Sloth : It brings… Pokemon?

Envy : It brings self-pity, self-inflicted illness, and acid humor

Anger : It brings, of course, crime, wars, dementia of ideas.


We have been told about the Deadly Sins under religious concepts.

We should realize that they are not sins, but deteriorated mental states of mind.


Right now we are living in a chaotic world in many aspects.

And I think that, collectively, not individually, we are insane.
And we need a cure. But the cure is not Religion.

seven deadly sins
The Seven Deadly Sins


Some definitions  have been taken by Aquinas and More

Published by


Born on a lizard-like island, I am a lover of nature, walks, photography, reading, perfumes, exotic cooking, gardening, trips, art... Now very much into the Asian Beauty Skincare World.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *